Diet/exercise info for insulin resistance/type II diabetes/general overweight

Hi folks,

Here’s a medical update, with diet and exercise plan for those of you who’ve asked for it. I was diagnosed with insulin resistance in January after years of insisting to no avail that something was wrong. I probably have something in the Syndrome X range, with insulin resistance and polycystic ovarian syndrome as the major symptoms.

**I am not a medical doctor; this is an account of what I’m doing, not medical advice. **Now with that scope of practice disclaimer made–

Since mid-January, I’ve lost 25 pounds and my blood sugar, with few exceptions, is where it’s supposed to be (<105 fasting, <140 postprandial). I’ll see my doctor for another glucose tolerance test in May.

The diet I’ve been following is basically Whitaker, Reversing Diabetes, though I have modified it slightly. To the extent that I can while still working and having a social life, I have checked this plan against current medical research on insulin management and weight loss. You may find the diet similar in some ways to the “modified Mediterranean diet” based on the Five Country study, and to the Zone Diet. There are several good studies, some including crossover designs, that appear to show that the American Diabetes Association diet increases insulin resistance (perhaps because it doesn’t address glycemic index or quality of grains). Atkins Diet appears to be effective in the short term at least, but the long-term impact of a high-protein diet, especially on people with diabetes, is still being studied.

FOOD
Aim for a moderate daily calorie count (I’ve been generally 1400-1800).

Decrease pre-packaged and restaurant food.

Aim for 30-45 grams of fiber a day, preferably from food (not packaged).

Eat something with fiber before eating the rest of the meal.

Measure foods and record constituents (as below).

Drink lots of water (>64 oz.) and low to moderate caffeine.