Diseases in the shower.

I’m a college student, and in my dorm it is common practice to wear flip-flops in the showers. Not that I mind my purple flip flops, but I’m wondering if this fashion statement is really necessary. So, dopers, are there really any gross diseases I can get from showering in my dorm, and will wearing flip-flops prevent them? I asked my UGA, but all he did was mutter something about hookworm and walk away quickly.

Athletes foot is common but I do not know of anybody who has died of this…

I rarely follow the links on these pages but I suggest you take a look at this one for a partial answer to your question. It is the most “intriguing” link I have ever seen.

http://www.ontap.com/health/stinkyfeet/day1.html

:slight_smile:

Um, thanks. I think.

Two words: plantar’s warts.

MAJOR PAIN!!! It took me about five months to get rid of them…and they were disgusting! Like hard lumps of black and white marble skin…
EW!!!

I have a 2.5 year old that was born 11 weeks premature. We had to be extremely cautious about germs until she was 1.5 years old. From what we learned from our doctors, I’d say there is nothing you have to worry about other than athlete’s foot.

People tend to be more paranoid about germs than they need to be. Just normal handwashing protects you from most things you could get. By the time you are 18-20, your immune system is working very well. I wouldn’t sweat it.

A study at Bristol University in England found that children who bathed twice a day and washed their hands more than five times a day had a 1-in-4 chance of developing asthma. For those who bathed every other day, the odds decreased to 1-in-7. Source: Dallas Morning News, June 14, 2000

If that link doesn’t qualify for a Weird Earl, nothing does.

I meant the stinkyfeet link, of course.