Do docs/pharmacists have the authority to deny prescriptions on a moral basis?

I read an article about doctors and pharmacists that are denying women prescriptions for hormonal birth control on the basis that it is “abortion”. I think this is not only rediculous, but it’s also unacceptable for doctors to impose their personal moral beliefs on their patients. It’s like refusing treatment to murderers or something.

What do you think?

Well, no. That is what doctors are for. O_o

Well, yeah.

And you have the right to take your business elsewhere and spread the word that Dr. So and So (insert your beef here). My guess is there will be plenty of doctors and pharmacists out there who will be happy to do business with you.

Absent an immediate life- or health-threatening situation, yes, they do.

As a primary care doctor, I also have the right not to refer to such people.

I think it would be wrong to discourage a patient from seeking a particular treatment on a moral basis. For instance, if a doctor has moral reasons for not giving birth control pills, it’s OK to explain his reasons and not prescribe the pills, but he shouldn’t try to talk her out of getting them at all.

Rather depends on their employment contract. The position may require specialized certification, but in the end the pharmacists who don’t own their shop are just glorified register monkeys. I’d advise simply complaining to their supervisor, or to the regional office if need be. Once the money guys figure out they’re losing a sizable business segment because of some loon’s religious nuttery, said loon will be out on his or her ass in no time flat.

If the loon does own the shop it’s a different matter, of course. Then you can just spread word about it, maybe picket out there one weekend, and take your business to the chain store on the corner.