Do you drive an SUV and do you like it?

If you do…what kind is it and what do you like about it? How’s the gas mileage? Manual or Automatic? Any problems or service issues?

Thanks! For those of you who hate SUV’s… I’m sorry but please don’t trash me. I like them!

Yes, I am a hated SUV driver.
1991 Chevy s-10 Blazer
Likes: It’s a four door (if you’ve got two kids in car seats, you’ll understand). If we didn’t have it, we’d have to park at the bottom of the driveway and walk a couple hundred yards uphill to the house as soon as the snow flew. I can go fishing and if I get stuck in a muddy bottom, I can (probably) get out. Plenty of inside storage for kids, dogs, etc., especially when making a road trip. It’s no taller than a mini-van. It’s relatively comfortable on those road trips, and we get 20 mpg.
It’s a v-6, 4 speed automatic.
Problems: We had to replace the engine @100,000 miles. The digital speedometer went out and cost $300 to replace the instrument pod. Electric windows need to be fixed every now and then. The outside spare tire holder stresses the tailgate enough to have actually caused a crack in the metal, which causes squeaks. It handles like a Ferarri (no, scratch that and replace with “pile of shit”), ESPECIALLY at Interstate speeds. No high speed corners here! But if you want to drive the twisties at speed, you should have gotten something else to begin with.

Thanks! I haven’t looked at the Blazer yet but it’s on my list. So far, I’ve checked out the Honda CRV and the Kia Sportage. I’ve ruled out the KIA because my mechanic said he won’t work on it if I buy it. :frowning: Oh well, moving on…

1984 Jeep Grand Wagoneer (SJ)
Ultra-luxo: leather, all power acessories (windows, locks, etc) standard!
AMC 360 cubic inch V8 (parts cost a little more than for Chevys, but they’re available)
AMC-cased Chrysler 727 3-speed automatic transmission, fulltime/part time 4wd (4wd can be used on dry pavement, but there is a 2wd mode)