Doctor Who and Gallifrey

I’m fairly new to the whole Doctor Who series, but from what I understand, the Doctor’s home planet and all other (known) members of his race have been destroyed. Also, the Doctor seems to have some sort of angst about this (wasn’t he the cause of/involved in/unable to stop said destruction?).

My question is: seeing as the whole point of being a “Time Lord” and having a contraption like the TARDIS is that you can go to whenever and wherever in time, has it ever been explained why the Doctor can’t just go back to when Gallifrey wasn’t all blown up? Also, seeing as (I assume) other members of his kind probably travel thru time as well, why shouldn’t it be very possible that other Time Lords are out there in different times? If there was some kind of thing about how it completely disappeared from all of space-time, then doesn’t that make the Doctor just about the biggest paradox ever?

As for many things pop-culture, Wikipedia has a good article on the Time War of the Doctor Who Universe.

Doctor Who doesn’t really do big technobabble explanations for the issues time travel. Where Star Trek tried to create a consistent fictional basis for their technology, Doctor Who pretty much goes with “This sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic. A [del]wizard[/del] Time Lord did it.” They throw out things like “Blinovich limitation” and “fluid link” when they have to, but they don’t dwell on it.