Does anyone have an opinion on Millie Gibson being axed from "Doctor Who"?

According to one Facebook group she was actually axed from the science fiction show for being “too difficult” to work with. Whether there’s actually any truth in that I wouldn’t like to say as I’m not an expert on these things.

Ah, “difficult to work with”. I’ve heard that that’s the preferred excuse given by producers for firing actresses who don’t submit to the casting couch. It may or may not be true in this case, but it definitely rings some alarm bells.

On the other hand, there are a lot of actors and actresses who are truly difficult to work with.

Doctor Who Confidential often showed the actors shooting on location in Cardiff. They waited in small tents between shots to avoid the paparazzi. It was often pretty cold in Cardiff but it wasn’t acknowledged on screen. David and Catherine were wearing Parkas and a PA would take the coats just before filming. David’s little Doctor Who suit offered little warmth. The actors seemed to accept the challenges with good grace.

The actors had to be pretty easy going to work on those sets. Anyone who got impatient or argued with cast mates or crew would be a major distraction.

I wouldn’t be surprised that a 19 year old might not fit into that difficult environment. Millie didn’t necessarily have to do or say anything outrageous. If she was a distraction it was easier to find someone else that wanted the role.

Billie Piper and Karen Gillian were both 23 when they started on the show, and that’s not that much older than 19.

Not to mention that plenty of 19-year-olds have done much more difficult jobs, like fighting wars.

Given that the show-runner in this case is Russell T Davies, who’s extremely unlikely to be interested in a 19-year-old woman, I think it’s less likely.