Does military leave apply to someone who decides to join military while employed?

A friend had an odd situation at work yesterday where an employee abruptly notified her supervisor that she joined the army for a 3 year commitment and was leaving in 4 days.
My friend now believes since her employer offers military leave benefits that they have to continue paying this employee for up to 18 months and have a position for them if they decide to return.
I said I thought it sounded a bit out of bounds from what military leave actually covers. That it is intended to cover employees currently or previously in the military who are called up for active duty. Not for someone looking to make a career change, join the military, and collect two checks for 18 months.
But since I have no experience with this stuff maybe I’m talking out of my ass.
So, if she’s right and the company is going to pay this person, what’s keeping someone with plans to enlist in the service from getting a civilian job first, enlist, and then claim military leave?
(I know this probably varies by state and employer)

According to everything have been able to find, military leave does not have to be paid. Some states require public employers to pay for some amount - in my state, it’s up to 30 days a year. Additionally , everything refers to the person being “activated” which sounds like it’s contemplating a reservist or member of the National Guard being called up for active duty rather than someone newly enlisting - who wouldn’t need to be activated because they are on active duty as soon as they start training.