Does your Liberal Arts Degree directly apply to your current profession?

I have a BA in Political Science. My answer would be no.

Is a “liberal arts degree” any degree obtained at a liberal arts college, or does it have to be in some smaller subset (like, only majors in humanities, arts and social sciences) to qualify?

define it as you wish.

Scary! Mine’s a STEM degree from a liberal arts college, and yes, definitely applicable to what I do.

I have a BA in liberal arts too, and yes, it has zero relevance to my current job.

I have a degree in technical journalism which I never, strictly speaking, had a job in. I did use my writing skills a lot though.

BA in Political Science, two years in a PhD program in Political Science/International Relations (left without a terminal degree).

My current profession requires a high school diploma, a drivers license, and a clean background check.

My liberal arts degree doesn’t even indirectly apply.

My degree was ‘Bachelor of Fine Arts with a concentration in Ad Design’. It was the 80s, so everything was pencil, pen, paint. Not a computer in sight.

After I graduated I worked as a graphic designer. After a few years I taught myself how to do graphics on a Macintosh. I was eventually hired as the manager of a graphics dept. I learned how to set up and maintain a Mac-based computer network.

The company where I was a graphics manager took notice and made me SysAdmin of the entire company. I taught myself web design because it was now 2000 and the company still didn’t have a website.

From there I got a job as a full time front-end web dev, because that is what I seemed to enjoy the best. I got to exercise my creative side designing and building websites. And that’s what I do to this day.

So, in conclusion (also TL;DR version): my degree is tangentially related to what I do now, but the degree has little or no bearing on the specific job description, the tools I use, and the way I learned how to use them.