double-yolked egg

Ok this is truly mundane and pointless.

I was making a egg-potato-suasage dish for brunch this morning and one of the eggs had a double yolk.
I’ve heard they aren’t all that rare, but this is the 1st one I’ve seen. Or if I’ve seen another it was > 10 years ago. Not that I go through a lot of eggs (other than the summer i worked as a prep cook, and would go through 96 eggs at a time making hollandaise sauce)

Brian

When I was getting my eggs from a friend with chickens we got lots of double yolks. Probably ¼ of the eggs were double yolked. I never saw them when I had store bought eggs, though.

I don’t know what is the answer to the implied question, but I once bought a dozen eggs that all had double yolks.

Once when I was working as a line cook I got an entire flat of 30 eggs that were all double yolks.

So did Kalhoun! Sounds like someone just put the wrong carton on the “to be sold” pile when it should have gone on the “to the bakery” cart.

A guest named **feebee **had the same thing happen and in that thread I shared how I had a fertile double-yolk egg in grade school when we studied embryology. Sadly, both chicks died, although the both developed much further than my teacher said they would.

Also, Harmonious Discord said that some chickens lay nothing but double yolked eggs, but that most of them never make it to the supermarket. If you buy your eggs from a farmer like her family did, you’d see a lot of weird eggs - even a triple yolk!

Me too. :cool: Store bought.

I have seen dozens of them.

I see them all the time…I don’t go through ALOT of eggs, but it seems to me that out of every dozen I buy, say once every month or more, there are 1 or 2.