Driving Etiquette

When is it appropriate to give someone the finger while driving? Is it ever appropriate?

I really wanted to do that yesterday, but I decided against it.

Don’t you know you’re supposed to keep both hands on the wheel, one at ten o’clock, the other at two o’clock?

Those who do not learn from the past are condemned to relive it. Georges Santayana

I say it’s only appropriate if the other driver is a prick. If he:

1. cuts you off
  2. drifts into your lane
  3. gets the spot YOU wanted
  4. gets in front of you and slows way down
  5. honks at you (anyone who honks at me is a prick by definition, I’m a perfect driver).
  6. is going too slow
  7. is going to fast
  8. roundly obeys the speed limit
  9. is smaller than you

Understand, rule 9 must be met before any of the others.

Draft me and I’ll AWOL. Imprison me and I’ll run. Shoot me and I won’t die, just to annoy you.

It’s often merited, but rarely worth the interaction it can generate. Definitely not a good practice at a stoplight during rush hour.

But I drive home at 6:00, so I can use either hand to finger. :slight_smile:

Of course, I don’t around here (DC). There’ve been several road rage duals and/or deaths caused by lesser provocations. Saying, “Fucking Idiot!” appeases my anger and doesn’t start an incident.

I’m with AWB. Screaming obscenities is less detectable to others and more satisfying than giving somebody the finger. I personally don’t mind getting cut off. What I really mind are: