Effective ways to become "The Idiot Son-in-Law"

Effective way to become “The Idiot Son-in-Law” #1: Work side-by-side with your wife’s father on a household project, that also happens to be his trade. Interior painting, ferinstance. On the bright side, my son has a spiffy new color covering the walls in his room.

Any other effective ways? I ask only because I’m looking to further establish my familial reputation.

Beginner level: Drink to excess at family gatherings. Make obtuse comments.

Intermediate: Hit on the cousins. Petty theft of family heirlooms.

Advanced: Dismember pregnant wife, dump in bay. Immediately start affair after news conference.

Hit on wife’s sister. Or mother. Note: this might get you hit.

Geepers, all I had to do was marry the girl. 26 years later, my Father-in-Law still doesn’t understand what I do for a living and often looks at me as if I should be wearing a helmet at all times.

I’m not Chinese. I’m not an engineer. I make jokes.

When my in-laws came to visit for the first time, they couldn’t understand a word of English. Still don’t. But they did observe that I made a joke with an airport employee. Then I tried to speak with them in my fairly hopeless Chinese.

Less than 45 minutes after they had first laid eyes on me, my father in law said that in China I would either be in a lunatic asylum or labor camp. Next day I tried to help him install a satellite dish (back in the days you had these big dishes to pick up the Chinese state television). He’s an aerospace engineer. I don’t know which was worse in his eyes. I couldn’t read the instructions (only in Chinese) or that I didn’t know how to use the device to find the direction and elevation of the satellite.