Electrical Question

This summer I tore out a wall and a yucky old stove hood, which left some outlet wiring and the hood wires exposed. I now need to throw up some drywall to keep the kitchen a bit warmer over the winter. This will be a temporary fix until the spring, when I have a contractor coming to do some major remodeling (including a new wall, outlet, and hood wiring).

In the meantime, can I stuff these wires (which are live) behind the drywall? Should I somehow secure them to the studs so they don’t flop around? I have the caps on the ends of each wire, but am worried about fire if I put them behind my temporary wall. Do I turn off the power and wrap them in electrical tape as well?

Thanks in advance for advice.

I’m not an electrician but - You need to go by what your local or state electrical code says. Generally there are strict rules that you can’t just leave old wires hanging unterminated in space like that, even if you consider it to be temporary. You probably need to remove the wires all the way back to whatever junction box they originated from.

I assume the wire is Romex (a plastic-sheathed multi-conductor cable). If so, I would nail a junction box to a stud, get a Romex cable clamp (strain relief), and feed the ends of your wire into the box, then put the wire nuts on the ends and cover the box. (Turn power off while doing this).

I’m not sure if that’s what Code would say to do, but that’s what I would do.

Sounds like a good idea! Not sure what the cable is, my house is about 100 years old and the posterchild for jury-rigged construction.

Depending on your level of skill and comfort with electrical projects.

At the least, turn off the breaker if this is the only outlet supplied by it.

If possible, disconnect the wire from the breaker and/or remove the breaker.

If there are other necessary outlets on the circuit, you’ll need to locate where this section branches off and disconnect it there.

like beowulff said.