Employed by someone you totally disagree with (Morally, politically)

I’m the type of guy who avoids Hobby Lobby, Chic Fil A and the Salvation Army due to their political/moral beliefs. I just feel there are other places for my chicken sandwich needs than Chic Fil A.

I work for a large family owned company and during a speech at a company wide event yesterday, the owner (whom I have never met, she is very hands off) said some political things that I simply don’t agree with.

Came home and did some research and she is involved with some of the most right wing elements in my state. The family gives lots of money to what I feel are questionable causes. Now if this was a private business, I would not spend my money there. But in this case, she signs my paychecks.

I love the job and it was difficult to find a job in this economy. I also realize that I am a tiny cog in the machine, yes I contribute to the company success but it’s not like I’m a million dollar salesman. Quitting is not really an option, I get paid pretty well and the benefits are good.

I’m interested in hearing from people who have worked for companies that they didn’t personally agree with. I’m making money for a family who then turns around and financially supports things I never in a million years would. This situation has probably occurred with previous jobs, but that type of knowledge wasn’t readily available.

A little knowledge truly is a dangerous thing.

Tough situation. Maybe use it as motivation to volunteer for your favored causes and candidates? You can’t outspend her, but hands-on aid is often a lot more valuable than just throwing cash around, and you get to be directly involved in change, which feels a lot better.

You love the job, and the pay and benefits are pretty good. That is a good gig. And the owner is mostly hands off? That is a great gig.

Spend your earnings how you see fit. Respect the owner enough to have her do the same.