Engineers and others, what else can I do with my (work) life?

I’ve been working as an engineer at a medium sized, multinational government contractor for about five years. I’ve been growing increasingly dissatisfied with my job, and I’m worried that if I don’t do something soon I’m going to wake up one morning twenty years from now and wonder where the hell my life went. I’m about 30 now, and I’m trying to be proactive about my professional happiness.

I have a bachelors and a masters degree from a top tier university and my performance at my current job thus far has been excellent. I’m good at what I do, I’m just losing motivation and personal satisfaction. What other jobs can I do with my education? I’m not looking to completely abandon the engineering field necessarily, but I do need a change of pace and a new outlook.

To the engineers out there, have any of you found unique, creative, or otherwise non-traditional ways to apply your education and skills?

What kind of Engineer are you? Whatever it is, I have found anyone with the drive and ambition to complete a masters in any Engineering and the ability to function to excellent standards, is pretty much able to do whatever they like.

Is the problem the projects you are on? I am very picky about what projects I sign up to complete.

My husband worked as a mechanical engineer in industry for a lot of years. They he went to work for gov’t contractors. He wants to go back into industry, but it’s really not an option where we live. Anyway, I might suggest you look into joining private industry - you’ll find it to be very different from contracting, faster paced, challenging, and potentially rewarding. Or you’ll hate it.

I’ve been a government engineer for almost 24 years, doing both design and analysis. I have enjoyed it all, although I much prefer design work. I’ve worked as both a mechanical engineer and an aerospace structural engineer - my degree is aero.

Just one engineer’s point of view.