Explain this UFO (not little green men) to me.

Earth orbiting satellite? Lunar satellite? What is this? Optical illusion?

Looks like a shadow to me. Presumably of the satellite, but I’m no expert.

I hate that website with the passion of a thousand suns, for starters. I couldn’t even get to the video for all the pop-overs, slide-ups and other ad crap. Those web designers need to eat a bullet.

Since the link goes to a crappy website with an embedded YouTube video, and the video itself has a lot of crap before it gets to the point, here’s a more useful link to the video.

Now able to view the video without invasion I am going to say satellite. Maybe the ISS or a high-flying plane on the outside.

The youtube commentary by the video’s author states it’s an earth-orbiting satellite.

Cool vid, but nothing out of the ordinary.

That would be my guess. It appears to change shape when it passes over a crater.

Assuming the video is being shown in real time, it’s going too slow to be a satellite in low earth orbit. It takes something like a minute to go the entire lunar diameter, so many hours to go 360 degrees (the moon has an angular diameter of about half a degree). My guess is it is a high altitude airplane. It is traveling too uniformly to be an insect at close range.

Good idea, JWT. I wonder how someone managed to take the video at the appropriate moment.

I’m guessing they just got lucky, assuming it is an aircraft. It would have been nice if they kept photographing the moon for a month. Then we’d know if it was a one off, yes?

I can’t quite follow this; could you elaborate?

To me it appears the shadow (my guess) crosses the entire face (diameter?) of the moon in about a minute.

I think that the shape change may be an optical illusion of light and shadow.

I had to look at it several times in the blue format between the 3 and 4 minute mark but… there seem to be very slight shadows that dissipate behind it of what looks like vapor from propulsion?