First business trip coming up (3 weeks in the northwest USA!) - prepare me

This Friday I got an offer from my IT agency to go to Washington/Oregon/Idaho for 3 weeks to do some west coast work. Since I’ve been wanting to go to Seattle for the better part of my life, and I’ve never been to that corner of the USA before, I didn’t have to think twice before saying yes.

The work itself is great – I’m a computer technician for the IT company who Chase bank has a contract with in order to convert the newly-acquired Washington Mutual branches over to Chase hardware. Since this is the first time Chase will have a northwest presence (it didn’t occur to me until I got this offer why the WASHINGTON in Wamu is in the name!), they have no staff out there, and so they’re sending techs from other parts of the country (I’ve been doing this work in the NYC area the last month or so, and I’ve done work for this company in the past too) out. However, the more I think of it, the more things come up that worry me.

First of all, this is the first time I’ve ever done a business trip that required more than a day or two. This is also the first time I’m getting paid to fly somewhere. The job is going to be for 3 weeks straight. I won’t be working every day, but they will not be sending me home until the 3 weeks are up. They will be paying for all travel expenses and hotels, as well as a meal allowance. Oh, and a minimum $800 per week salary (with overtime if I do work more than 40 hours a week). So it does sound like a pretty sweet package for me.