Food-workers, do you get hardened to burns?

Viewers of FoodTV often see video chefs handling food that has just come out of boiling water or a frypan. I cringe when I see that, but I’m an amatuer. Do your fingers become hardened to the inevitable burns in the kitchen?

Or is it like that Lawrence of Arabia line about not caring that it hurts?

And what about your mouths? I cringe too, and when the chef puts food straight in his mouth.

I can never start eating a hot meal right after it’s cooked.

I wouldn’t say hardened, but unless you’re the unfortunate victim of a 2nd or 3rd degree burn, you tend to shrug it off and just continue with what you’re doing.

I’ve been a baker for almost 20 years. Burn scars? Hell yeah – I’ve got them on both sides of both arms, as well as on my hands, and even on one leg (that one in particular came from a falling tray).

Nowadays I might give a momentary yelp if I singe a finger, but that’s it. Doesn’t happen very often. It’s just part of the job shrug

I’m not a professional, but I’ve noticed that I’m much more tolerant of handling hot food than I was when I started cooking. And, yes, it is mainly just being too busy to care about a couple of seconds of pain. My fingertips are noticeably tougher than they used to be, too.

One thing I’ve noticed in some long time chefs and kitchen workers is the way they pass joints. Normally, if you don’t have a roach clip handy, passing a joint that has burned down past a couple of centimeters is a complex dance involving two stoned people trying to grip a tiny sliver of reisen-covered paper. Long-time kitchen people with a healthy layer of scar tissue will just hold out their hands and let you drop the burning joint directly into their palm.

IANAC but I can tell you that working on cars for a living makes you less sensitive to pain / heat.