French toast assistance

I’m a pretty good cook, and I can make pancakes that will make you weep. But we very seldom make French toast and it never seems to come out right, for some reason. I’ve tried different breads, dried, fresh, whatever; but we never seem to get that ideal combination of crispy, puffy exterior and melty interior. This morning’s abortive attempt was using challah that I dried overnight on the counter. Soaked it for 20 minutes in a mixture of buttermilk, eggs, sugar; fried in butter at about medium to medium high. Even after a 20 minute soak, the mixture didn’t penetrate all the way into the challah, which I think is too dense for this dish. The result, while it tasted fine, was just not the consistency one hopes for in French toast.

Gimme your tried, true, and never-fail recipes and methods, please. I’ll be your friend.

I think you’re soaking the bread waaaay too long. Less than a minute per side.

Here’s a recipe from America’s Test Kitchen-- they test the hell out of everything:

Ingredients

1        large egg
2        tablespoons unsalted butter, melted, plus extra for frying
3/4     cup milk
2         teaspoons vanilla extract
2        tablespoons granulated sugar
1/3      cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1/4      teaspoon table salt
4 - 5   slices day-old challah bread (3/4-inch-thick) or 6 to 8 slices day-old sandwich bread

Instructions

1. Heat 10- to 12-inch skillet (preferably cast-iron) over medium heat for 5 minutes. Meanwhile, beat egg lightly in shallow pan or pie plate; whisk in butter, then milk and vanilla, and finally sugar, flour, and salt, continuing to whisk until smooth. Soak bread without oversaturating, about 40 seconds per side for challah or 30 seconds per side for sandwich bread. Pick up bread and allow excess batter to drip off; repeat with remaining slices.