Fuckwit Employers who take advantage...

of naive or young employees!
My son was just laid off from his job as a full time insulator with no termination notice. When I asked him if he will be getting his termination pay he said they didn’t offer any. This completely contravenes the law here and have done this to a bunch of other guys for whom this was their first “serious” job.
I really despise assholes like his boss who try to fuck over their employees to save a buck, doubly so when they have gotten away with it on others.

We’ll be going to the Alberta Labour Board to see what the fallout of this will be, and I’ve recommended to the boy to tell everyone else who was in the same boat to do the same. Fucking Oil Patch Fucks!

Maybe they don’t have to:

cite

Yeah, that was going to be my question too.

Admittedly, i’m not an expert, but it seems to me that working as an insulator might qualify as being part of the construction industry.

Rules are a little different for construction than other professions in Alberta. Certainly check with the labour board though, I’ve seen lots of practices that I know where in violation.

The construction industry here has plenty of morally corrupt cheats.

My first job was in an office where people were entitled to overtime. Unfortunately, my boss told me that she didn’t believe in overtime, and that she thought people should just work until their work was done. I sometimes worked 14 hours days, with no additional compensation. When I finally quit, I got no severance – I’m not even sure if I got my final paycheck. I was young and naive, and so glad to be out of there that I didn’t even think about the money I was owed.

I agree 100% with the pitting of bosses who take advantage of inexperienced employees to pull this kind of stuff.

Forget it, Jake. It’s Albertatown.

The oil and construction industries have essentially written the labour laws in this province for the past 40 years, thanks to consecutive conservative governments.