Funniest thing you ever heard an old man say

When I was younger, I was a painting for a living. I’ll never forget that on my first day at work I was hooked up with a crusty old fart who was every bit near 70 years old. He was trying to take off a light fixture at the top of some stairs and he had rigged up some rickety contraption in order to reach the fixture. He had to hold one hand onto a doorway and reach WAY out with the other hand trying to unscrew the fixture over the stairs in order to paint the ceiling around it. Needless to say this was difficult and somewhat dangereous to do this. Being the young apprentice, I was intently watching him to help him out any way I could. He was huffing and puffing trying his best and finally I heard him muttering under his sweaty brow:

• This is like trying to sew up a wild cat’s ass with a log chain!*

I laughed so hard that I almost puked. We both laughed at the situation. It was too funny.

I get such a kick outta old guys anymore. Have you heard some doozies? Share em’

When I was in high school, I worked at the school’s TV and radio station. One day we were sprucing up the TV news set by painting the big desk with white latex. There were about 4 of us there, who didn’t really know what we were doing and were kind of goofing around, so the painting wasn’t exactly of professional quality. The station’s chief engineer, a very funny old guy of about 65, shuffled into the studio, took a look at what we were doing, and said, “You guys paint like you’ve got your left nut in a vise!”

-Andrew L

My boss at work is 66 years old and of course works more hours and volunteers for more of the grunt work than anyone else. He also has a comically thick Southern accent which marks him as one of the few people who lived in this area when it was the sticks, before it became a trendy suburb. I’ve heard him say two words not related to work in the past three years.