Gobbledygook posts

I’m still pretty new at this computer stuff, and just discovered the Usenet groups. While exploring MyDeja.com, I came across some group names that I thought were surely jokes (forgive me for even typing this, but alt.flame.nigger?) When I accessed the forum to see what in the world this was, I found that the posts were nonsensical - the words were all English but seemed to have no relation to one another in the sentences. While checking out alt.skeptics and such I also came across some posts from some other rather unsavory sounding groups (white nationalists? alt.fan.adolfhitler?) that were also nonsense.

I’m assuming that the content of these posts are so inflammatory that they are ‘scrambled’ somehow.

Can anyone give me more info about this?

The woods would be very silent if no birds sang there except those that sang best. - Henry Van Dyke

A WAG, but it could be intentional. Some groups they don’t like the subject of the board may be mass uploaded nonsensical messages onto the group to drown them in spam.

OK, important tip. Don’t have a conversation when you’re proof reading.

Take Two:

A WAG, but it could be intentional. Some groups that don’t like the subject of the board may be mass uploading nonsensical messages onto the group to drown them in spam.

I hadn’t thought of that possiblity. I had assumed it was intentional on the part of the posters, either through a moderator or some function of Deja.

I was rather shocked to find such discussion groups on the internet - or rather, that they would blatantly make themselves known. But I was rather shocked in general - I’ve been spoiled hanging around here and at snopes. Just reading through a few of the discussion groups was scary - there sure are a lot of stupid, bigoted, idiotic, just-plain-mean people out there. I’d managed to forget that for a little while!

The woods would be very silent if no birds sang there except those that sang best. - Henry Van Dyke