Graduate Students, get in here so we can whine together

I was surprised to see a few people confess to being graduate students in the “What’s your job” thread. Granted, I know these things get mentioned elsewhere, but I’ve got a mind like a steel sieve.

So… how far along are you, what degree are you going for, how miserable/poor are you?

Me, I’m a doctoral candidate (PhD), darn close to finishing, absolutely sick to death of it, but thrilled to know it will be over soon. I want to defend in the fall. I am not terribly fond of my advisor & chair and I suspect 85% of my work-avoidance problem is some passive-aggressive way of getting back at her.

I’m studying Higher Education (education at the post-secondary level). I don’t really need the PhD for my job (I started working here part-time as a graduate student, but they hired me full-time and while they’re happy to have me finish, my job will not change once I do).

Doctoral candidate with two years to go, in topology. I’m not really all that miserable, though. I’m definitely poorer than I am miserable, let’s put it that way.

I guess I’m not really whining, sorry. Is it okay if I just commiserate? There, there. (pats Cranky on the back) There, there.

Doctoral candidate, English, one year in. The statistics on time-to-degree at my university are pretty grim. If I stick it out, I could have seven years or more to go.

To be perfectly honest, I think I’m good for another year and then it’s time to look into teaching EFL overseas. It’s been fun while it lasted, but I’ve always thought of it as more of a way to gain teaching experience and figure out what I want to do than the gateway to an Illustrious Academic Career.

I’m applying … I can’t quite say tomorrow yet, but on Monday. In History at UHManoa. I’m pretty much guaranteed to get in.