In the final round of the Masters yesterday, Tiger Woods hit a shot into the water and had to play a drop. Where he dropped the ball seemed too close to the water for my comfort – seemed like a bad roll could have landed that drop right back into the drink.
What do the rules of golf allow for a drop location? Has a pro ever had the ridiculously bad luck of having a drop roll right back into the water?
So it must be re-dropped if it rolls into a hazard. Actually, Tiger dropped in a drop area at #15, relatively flat. It was Appleby at #12 who ran this risk.
I’ve seen this happen, and there are some places (e.g. ground sloping toward water) where it’s hard to avoid.
If it does, Rule 20 says that you re-drop without penalty. If you have the same problem with the re-drop, you then place the ball where the re-drop hit the ground.