Have you ever given up your passion by choice?

We are all told to pursue our passions.

Well I sort of feel like I may have reached a dilemma. I have been travelling around the continent for the past two years learning to dance West-Coast Swing. It’s been an amazing adventure…built my confidence and helped take away my depression. I’m starting to burn out a bit. I do still love it, but it’s expensive, and I think my lifestyle might be preventing me from really settling in where I live and putting in roots. It’s been so much fun, and I love to keep learning and improving. But I feel very isolated because it’s a hobby not many people share where I live. I’d like to meet some new people again. Maybe I should just take a break.

Have you ever given up something you truly enjoy and love? Why?

I used to be very much into painting and sculpting.

But after I moved last year, the passion fell away. Part of it was due to me becoming engrossed in another thing. But now that other thing has been wrapped up, I still don’t really have a burning desire to go back to my artwork.

I feel bad because I did find it so enjoyable. I have pieces all over my house that I’m immensely proud of. People ask if I’m still selling my wares, and it reminds me that my art was once a large part of my identity. It gave me a sense of purpose. I don’t know what my identity or purpose is now, other than working and being on the internet way too much.

Yes, I stopped riding horses, dressage at the time, in 2007. At the time, I had 2 small kids, a move, and followed that up with spinal fusion surgery.

I miss it every day. Dream about riding almost nightly. I hope to re-engage sometime.

My words of advice: if it’s still fun and important to you, look for a way to do it that involves more balance in your life. Cut back, but don’t walk away. It can be a lot harder to get back into something than you realize. OTOH, if the thrill is gone, time to cut loose. There will be other joys in life.