Have You Ever Turned Down A Raise?

Before y’all conclude I’ve lost my marbles, allow me to explain:

At my last evaluation I agreed to certain educational assignments that were to be completed by 12.31.2003. My last eval was in April last year which meant I had 8 months to get that stuff done, but I only managed to complete one of the three agreed-upon assignments. (This was something I signed my name to, BTW).

Okay. In all fairness to myself, we had a really busy year patient-wise, and being the only therapist on a 12 hour night shift really had me humpin’ to the point where there wasn’t much “down-time” available to me to complete those things, but

It bothers me that I made a promise which I didn’t keep. It bothers me a lot.

Back in the 80’s I worked as an assistant manager at a Sherwin-Williams store in Panama City Florida and we had the following motto hanging on our office wall:

We will do what we say we will do.
We won’t commit to something we can’t do.
Once we commit to it, we will do it.

I always thought that was a pretty good way to conduct one’s life as well as one’s business, and that is why it bothers me that I didn’t honor my commitment to my boss.

She’s very cool, and has told me time and time again that she knows we were busy this past year and that she isn’t holding this against me. Again, to be fair, I consider myself a very good therapist and team player, and I never leave at 7 am if I know the day shift person is coming into a “mess”. Still, I broke a promise., and I plan to turn down the merit raise when it’s offered. (Last year I got more than anyone in the department: 3%. The rest got 2.) I know it’s not a great deal of money, but it’s the principle. I am, in essence, kicking my own ass to do better.

So my question stands. Have you (for whatever reason) ever done this? How was it received?

Thanks

Quasi