Have you ever used the word "phablet"?

I’m doing a show for a large computer tech company right now and they have been using the word “phablet” non-ironically to describe a large cel phone. A quick google check shows that the word was coined several years ago, yet to the best of my recollection I’ve never encountered it before. And I do shows for Nextel, the CTIA, Apple, Samsung, etc. all the time.

Not only that, I can’t imagine using the word; it just sounds and looks like a shitty word.

But I know that I’m usually in the minority about some pop culture trends, so I thought I’d see if any Dopers had picked up the word and made it a part of their regular vocabulary. Has anyone?

I work in the cellphone industry, and it’s a word you see written more than spoken. I think everybody agrees it’s a stupid word but it’s also the most common term for describing the jumbo phones like Samsung’s Note series and Apple’s iPhone 6+.

It gained traction originally, I think, because a lot of tech journalists thought these devices were cumbersome and poorly-designed and they wanted to point out that they were more like undersized tablets than big phones. I saw it originally in a lot of sentences like, “Have you seen the phablet Samsung is launching? Who would buy that?”

Turns out: a bunch of people. It might be the most “out of touch” thing I’ve seen from the tech journalism industry in a long time.

Have you ever used the word “phablet”?

No. Never. Never heard anyone speak it. I’m not sure we need a new word. “Large cell phone” works for me.

No, and I hope I never do.

I have. It came up in a meeting we were having about our web site at work, and we were discussing responsive design and all the different form factors there are for screens now. Some folks in the meeting hadn’t heard the word yet so it got some laughs.