Help the skinny guy!

Fellow dopers I need your help! I am 6’3 170 lbs and I want to gain some muscle mass. I have been working out regularly since November 2002 and I eat fairly healthy. I am having trouble gaining muscle mass, I have noticed some strength increase but no size increase. Any help would be appreciated.

Search the archives of some major bodybuilding web sites’ forums. www.musclemag.com. You will not have to post there, the info is all in the search option. Search for “help” or “put on mass”.

2 questions:

1. How old are you?
  2. Do you have a southern girlfriend?

If you are under 25, then just wait a few years. If you don’t have time to wait, find a southern girl that likes to cook. :smiley:

Worked for me. I went from 145lb skinny-as-a-rail 21yo, to a nicely filled out 180 in just over a year and a half. (I’m 6’)

Yeah I am 19, so I know my metabolism is quite high. However the other option is not too feasible either. I live in Canada! Thank you for the advice though.

I think it would help if we knew what you ate throughout the day. I am guessing that whatever it is, it is not enough. So, give us a rundown of your typical meals.

The male body doesn’t really mature until it hits age 25, at least. At your height, you will probably hit 200 pounds just by eating 3 square meals a day, in the next couple of years, regardless of whether you work out.

The only way you will gain mass is by eating more calories than you consume. Just the opposite of losing weight.

What does your diet and training regimen look like?

I would guess that your regimen is not strenuous enough or not focused on muscle mass enough. Hard to say without more details. For a healthy 19 years old, should be pretty easy to put on some muscle.

Start drinking protein shakes… They help add some bulk on your muscles…

If you don’t mind supplements… I would also take creatine…
like Cell-tech… taken correctly… you will bulk up quick…
I put on about 10 lbs in 2 weeks…