High School reunions (or...I am insane)

I am going to Omaha this weekend. I lived there for the first 20 years of my life and was happy when I left town for Nevada in 1996.

Here’s the deal. My ten year high school reunion is this weekend. Last night I got this wild hair about going. I have been saying for the last 5 months I was not going to go BUT I changed my mind (I have no idea why). I bought the plane ticket (steep, but not bad) got a hotel room, not easy considering the College World Series is going on right now, and a rental car. I leave Friday Morning at 7am PT. I get into Omaha at 430pm CT get my rental car, go to the hotel, & check in. There is a pre-party gettogether at a bar at 8pm. At least it is at a bar. :smiley: so no rushing or anything! The actual reunion is a semi formal dinner thing, I still don’t know if I am going to that. Ill take clothes just in case. But I have other things to do if I don’t do to that part.

I haven’t seen 99% of these people in almost 10 years. Granted we were not all best friends, but there was no animosity either. Some of these people I have known since I was 5 years old. I had no intention of ever seeing these people again, like I would care. But for some reason I thought what if I don’t go and I regret it forever. It is not like I have any long lost high school romance- I didn’t date people from my school. Plus, I am happily married to the greatest guy ever! But if it sucks, hey so it was crappy, and the people are still all the same idoits as they were 10 years ago.

There is other stuff I need to do this weekend too. A friend of mine who I had basically known forever (22 years) died of cancer last year. I was unable to go to her funeral because my aunts funeral was the same day, but in Kansas. And I still need to go to the cemetary, I guess for closure.