Holiday Desserts

One thing I’ve been noticing the last few years is how little a role desserts play in the grand scheme of holiday dinners. In a way I can understand it: My extended family tends to concentrate more on appetizers and the main dishes. Dessert is put out buffet style maybe an hour or so after the main meal. People take “polite” servings, leaving the bulk of everything untouched. If extended family can’t get anyone to take anything home they toss everything into the trash.

As a baker/cake decorator by trade this used to grab my soul and squeeze the utter life out of it, especially if it was something I’d made specifically for the holiday. I finally learned my lesson and now don’t go all-out when I make something, LOL.

My husband’s family is becoming the same way as the nieces/nephews grow older. Christmas Eve’s dessert spread largely went untouched. My SIL encouraged everyone to take something home or she’d dump everything.

I can’t help but thinking, “What a waste.” Plus all the $ spent on ingredients.

What about you? Does your family make a big deal about desserts/sweets? Or are they more on the savory side?

My family doesn’t don’t do a Christmas dinner, but this is definitely the case for our Thanksgiving.

Usually I whip up a couple sweet potato pies and my parents buy a pint of ice cream and some cool whip. That’s more than enough for a crowd of people who have stuffed themselves silly on turkey and sides.

This is also more or less the case when my boss throws the annual Christmas party at his house, though his desserts are so off-the-wall good that most people find a way to make a bit of room.

I made this Chocolate Whiskey Cake for Christmas dessert this year. We barely had any left. So no, people picking at dessert does not happen around here!

Growing up in my family, food was merely a polite excuse that you ate so that you could go on to tackle the REAL meal of desserts. I will never understand people who don’t take dessert seriously.