Home networking

Ok I feel like I should know this because I am a networking major…I am trying to connect two devices (Xbox360 and a PVR) to the internet. I have a wireless router in another room. How can I connect these devices to the network short of running cables from the router. I need a wireless access point correct? That I can just set up next to the devices and connect it to the wireless network and run ethernet cables from it to the two devices. Is this correct?

That’s one way, yes.

http://www.pcworld.com/article/156208/doityourself_free_xbox_360_wireless.html

Ok so a wireless router does not need to be plugged into a modem correct? it can connect directly to the wireless router I already have hooked up and then use its ethernet ports to provide internet. Is this the simplicst way of doing it?

Yep, use one wireless router to bridge your assorted media stuff to the other wireless router that actually has an outbound connection. I’ve been doing that for a few years now with two Linksys routers flashed with DD-WRT.

Why do you have to flash them with DD-WRT?

You don’t - DD-WRT has some neat additional features, so many people choose to flash their compatible routers with it. But there’s no need.

So routers are cheap enough now that they have replaced bridges and hubs?

You need an access point that has a “client bridge” mode. At home I have a WRT54gl running DD-wrt for this. The stock linksys firmware doesnt have this feature, or at least it didnt last time I checked.

Associate the linksys (will need ssid, network key, etc) with your existing wireless network and then you can plug your ethernet devices into the rear of the unit. I do this for a slingbox, DVR, and HTPC. Works nicely.

Hmm ok ill have to go update my firmware and see if that option is added and then go to DD-wrt if that doesnt work