Homosexuality and the Quran in Holland - I am disturbed

Disclaimer: This is my first GD thread, and I’m fairly certain that I’m not good at it. However, this topic has been on my mind for two months now and I need to get this of my chest.

The situation (I could link to articles on the web, but they are in Dutch so I don’t think anyone has use for them): beginning of May, an Imam in Holland did the disputed statement that “homosexuality is a disease that is damaging to society and should be fought.” He added that "these times, more elderly people come into society and he fears that now that gay marriage is a possibility in Holland, the older generations won’t be active in procreation and won’t be bearing children."

The justice department looked in it to see if the statement was so discriminating that the Imam could be persecuted (which was not the case) and our minister of Integration Policy had a cenversation with Imams to talk about our values (which was received as condescending by the Imams!!!)

Now, I had a problem with this statement (naturally, since I’m gay myself). I’m not a person who discriminates easily, and always fight against it. But this statement struck a cord. In our country where tolereance is usually dominant in society, how is it accaptible that someone who is not raised with our values and standards, makes such statements of a people that he does not really belong to? In other words, how did he have the nerve?

I was quite shocked with my reaction, and I’m still not sure if it’s just or not. However, that is not the reason why I started this thread.

Today, the paper mentioned that 1100 young Muslims will present a petition to the aforementioned minister to support the Imam.