House of Commons passes bill to protect trans people's human rights

NDP:

It isn’t law yet; first it has to pass the Senate, which it must do before an election is called. However, even if it fails to do so, we’ll reintroduce it again and again until it passes (it took Svend Robinson 16 years to pass the same protections for sexual orientation).

I’ve been working extremely hard on this for a few years now, especially over the last year (the bill hit second reading in May), and it’s extremely exciting to see it passed.

Besides getting the bill passed, I hope that the debate will lead to human rights protections in the various provinces and territories, as well. Currently, the Northwest Territories are the only one with protection on the basis of gender identity.

I’ve seen the trans community galvanized on the issue and a lot of people are feeling that they may have a hope of having their elected officials recognize their existence, equality as citizens, and human dignity, or at least are feeling that they can demand that of them.

What the fuck is the House of Commons? Doesn’t sound American, so I’ll just assume it’s not important. :stuck_out_tongue:

I should also say that it’s especially poignant for me because Bill, one of the finest human beings it’s ever been my pleasure to work with, has announced he won’t run again in the next election. He has been fighting for these protections literally since his maiden speech, and it’s a fitting swan song for him.

Congrats. You wouldn’t happen to have a handy link that lists how MPs voted on this, would you?

Enjoy!

There’s a list showing how MPs voted on it here.

Awesome news! I heard about this yesterday, and thought of you, matt.

Awesome, matt! Congratulations!

(It’s nice having a Doper near the levers of power…)

Thanks for that, though the names I was looking for were the colour I expected rather than the colour I hoped.

Not important to you, that is.

Moderator note: