How best to convince my employer to hire me?

Disclosure: I’m a VFX artist in the game industry.

I’ve just hit my one-year anniversary with my employer. I like working for them, and in many ways it’s a really good gig. They’re in California, and I’m in Utah, so I’ve been working from home. The pay is… well, it’s okay. It’s not great, but if you factor in my non-existent commute, it’s pretty good. I like the people I work with, and they like my work- so much so that I’ve now finished up one project and am now working on a new one, which is a project I’m very interested in. On the previous project, I was one of two artists, but on this new project I’m the only artist.

The problem is, I’m on contract. I’m hourly, so I don’t get any holidays or sick days. I don’t get any benefits. And, the part that bothers my accountant wife the most, we have to do our own tax withholding.

About nine months ago I broached the subject of being hired on permanently. They want to hire me, but they don’t want actual employees working offsite. I’d be willing to move, except they’re in Newport Beach, and it’s a very expensive area to live in. We’d have to sell our house and try to find a place to live there, and odds are I’d end up with a really long commute. Plus, their office is already crowded- they don’t have the room for me or any other new employees. Furthermore, if we move my wife will have to find a new job, so while it’s likely she’d find work, it’s not guaranteed.

My wife has done the research, and she says that I’m not really supposed to be a contractor- like I said, I’ve been working full time for a year now, and I’m having to provide my own equipment… which is pretty pricey. She says they’re breaking labor laws with this situation.