How Difficult is Harvard, Princeton, or Oxford?

Though I have a grad degree and went to a good state university, I’ve always wondered how I might have fared at one of these Ivy League/top Brit schools. Yes, I know the average SAT score is sky high and most students graduated near the top of their respective classes, but I wonder: were I to have taken a few courses, could I have hacked it?

Is the difficulty level such that a good state university student would still get blown out of the water? Is the level of analysis and sheer difficulty really that high?

(Please don’t cite instances of political types who you believe are idiots yet nevertheless graduated. I’m hoping for more thoughtful responses.)

You’d do fine. They are very very tricky to get into & expensive too.

Well, there the old saying that “The hardest part about getting an Ivy League degree is getting in”

Since you ban political types, I know a girl who is at an Ivy League school right now, who had neither sky high SATs nor was she in the top 10% of her high school class, and she’s doing average.

On another note, Harvard has something like a 98% graduation rate (i.e. 98% of freshmen graduate within 5 years). This can be taken two ways: 1) everyone they let in is so smart that they can’t help but graduate (ha! I have a hard time believing that, there’s always some people who can’t hack it) or 2) getting in is the hardest part.

USCDiver

(who got in, but didn’t go.)

I went to Columbia University [also Ivy League for those who don’t know].

I did graduate first in my high school class, but the state of Alabama is not exactly known for high academic standards. My SATs were in the top 15%.

I did not take a part time job so I had time to study. I studied hard. I took 6 to 7 classes per semester. One or two per semester were introductory level classes outside my major [I like to learn]. I made one D, a couple Cs, the rest mostly As and Bs.