How do you like to BOINC?

So what shared-computing projects are you running? For those who don’t know, BOINC is a shell program developed at Berkeley that allows your computer, during idle times, to download and process data from a wide variety of extremely complicated scientific problems, and then upload them back to the server. SETI@home (the Search For Extraterrestrial Intelligence) is run through BOINC. Essentially, it becomes your screen saver.

In this way, scientists are able to process massive amounts of data much faster than they would be able to otherwise given funding, staffing, and time limitations. Granted, in some ways it’s still like pissing up a rope, since the amount of data is so mind-meltingly massive, but hey, we might get lucky.

As for me, I ran SETI@home for quite some time, but I’m a biologist interested in genetics and epigenetics, and the first step (well, the second, really, since the human genome is complete) is to develop a reliably complete proteomics database. The numbers here are staggering. Out of several billion base pairs in the human genome, they code for perhaps 200,000 different proteins. After synthesis, they can be modified in a bewildering number of ways. They can be glycosylated, acetylated, phosphorylated, chopped, diced, blended, and frapped. We are nowhere even close to understanding all the intracellular processes that affect proteins, or even what all the possible protein structures are. Note that there are 5 different projects that address some aspect of protein chemistry.

To that end, I devote most of my computer’s down time to Ecole Polytechnique’s proteins@home project.

What do you do?

Ba-dump!

I used to run Seti@Home on my computers but never pursued it when they swtiched to BOINC. I’ll have to look into it again.