How does an airline pilot work his way up to a 747/A380?

In my position as a research engineer, I am afforded opportunities for promotion. I can stand out among my peers by exhibiting excellence in attention to design detail, data analysis and project management, and if sufficiently motivated, I can take on greater responsibilities in my current position, or even work my way up the org chart into management.

Recently I got to wondering how an airline pilot ends up at the controls of (to me, at least) the biggest and most prestigious aircraft, the 747 or the A380.

Can someone describe the career path of a 747/A380 pilot? When you’re fresh out of flight school, how do you distinguish yourself from your peers and get selected for advancement/promotion? It seems (to this non-pilot) like a pilot’s responsibilities are clear cut, and either you meet expectations (i.e. fly safely) or you don’t. In what ways can an airline pilot exceed expectations?

I’m guessing you pay your own way through flight school before you get hired, but once you’re employed by an airline, who pays for the training that lets you step from a small “simple” aircraft like a regional jet up to a complex, 4-engined leviathan that puts as many as 600 lives in your hands?

A huge percentage of them probably had military training on big cargo planes which would be similar to a big passenger plane.

A lot come from the military as pilots, but even they have to work their way up.

I had a passing interest in becoming a commercial airline pilot, and it is possible to do it the civilian route but very few do.