How does an "On Demand" cable service work?

I have Comcast cable at home, which offers a service called On Demand, allowing me to watch a fairly large selection of movies and programs. I can select the program from a menu and start and pause it when I want. But how does this work? Do they feed a video stream specifically to me? I happen to have the cable box with a built-in DVR, so it’s possible they are downloading the selected program to it, but is a cable box with built-in storage required for the On Demand service?

I have the same Comcast service. I also have the DVR, so I can’t tell you whether it is available to subscribers without the DVR, but they way it’s advertised, I believe it is. I have always assumed that it’s similar to streaming video over high-speed internet, but over the TV cable instead.

I work in the cable industry and spend a fair amount of time with Comcast. I do know a a bit about their On Demand network.

When you decide to watch a movie, your set top box (must be digital) sends a message to a video server located somewhere in your city. The server sets up a session with you set top box. A single digital TV stream (about 3.5 MB/s) is reserved for your use. Generally 10 or 11 of these streams fill a 6 MHz TV channel. This makes the On Demand system is a major user of network bandwidth. To allow any significant number of On Demand users, the network must be segmented – different streams are sent to different geographical locations within the network at the same RF frequencies.

There are many more details. But this is a high-level overview of how the system works.

I’ve wondered about this myself. If I understand Ex_Chemist’s post, an on-demand PPV order does not cause the content to be downloaded to my box, but is operated remotely on the local video server.

That would make sense, as I’ve noticed a slight delay in response to the remote, compared with when we’re watching a DVD.