How easy is it to go for someone's eyes in a fight?

In the chimpanzee on human fights I’ve read about, the chimps seem to have little difficulty getting the human’s eyes. I’m wondering how easy and effective it is to go for people’s eyes in hand to hand combat.

Do some techniques work better than others?

If it has a good mix of ease and effectiveness, how come we seldom see it in actual fights where the fighters are genuinely hostile to each other?

No, don’t need answer quick, the question just occurred to me after watching Hannibal.

I’ve been training in shito ryu karate since the late 1970s, and that was one of the early techniques that we were taught. Index finger and ring finger going into the eyes, leaving the middle finger to help push your fingers out.
At that point the fight is over.

Obviously only used in desperation, as are most offensive moves we are taught.

It’s not easy to land a solid punch on someone’s chin in a stand-up fight. Delivering a poke to the eyes if you’re squared off? Pretty difficult, I’d say.

Now if you’re wrasslin’ around, different story.

It was once quite common in the South, in rough-and-tumble fighting.

On two occassions I have taken a finger in the eye when I had someone in a hold on the ground they could not otherwise get out of. On both occassion I submitted rather than loose my eye. I honestly cannot rememeber any of the details beyond being on the ground and holding someone. I could have probably gotten out of it but did not wish to take the chance. You never know if someone is going to push the finger in deeper or not.

How often do you see fights were the fighters are genuinely hostile to each other? Most fights are either simulated on TV or in a movie or part of an athletic competition. And even “real” fights are usually between two guys who’ve had a few too many drinks and are mostly shoving each other around rather than trying to kill each other.

“Go for the Eyes, Boo!”