How exactly do I get ahead?

Warning This post could be construed as whining/complaining or just general patheticness but I’m looking for good, honest advice.

Just a little bit of background. I’m a 28 year old professional, working as a consultant. The job market being what it was, consulting work is all I’ve been able to find to keep myself fed.

I will try to spare too many pointless details, but I do think some of that might count.

At 16, I met the man that I would later marry at the age of 19. At 26, we divorced, three kids later. When he left, I was jobless, carless, nearly homeless, and penniless. For that reason I gave custody of my children to him (despite his many, many flaws, he is a phenomenal father).

I was able to find a consulting gig shortly before the divorce went final. I moved into an efficiency apartment that took half of my weekly pay. All but 50 dollars of the other half went to child support. I managed to save enough to get a beater of a car (on financing, sadly enough) and move into a house-sharing situation. I got a better gig, made a little more money, and all was looking up. Child support was going out on time, all was well.

Then that gig ended, and since things had JUST begun to shore up financially for me, there hadn’t been enough time to prepare for the unexpected end. I had to move out of the house I was in, and into with a friend (my angel) while I sought work. For 3 months, I was unemployed, which, granted, is not long compared to the time that some people are out of work, but when you have no one else providing any income, or any sort of financial support, three kids to help support, and no sign of improvement, 3 months starts to feel like a lifetime.