How fast can you type?

I’ve taken a couple tests recently and have averaged about 60-63 words per minute. I bet on a good day I could probably hit 70 wpm.

So how fast can all of you type? What’s the fastest you’ve ever seen anyone type?

123 wpm, but I do this for a living.

Esprix

If seeing on TV counts, I saw a woman on David Letterman who is supposedly the world’s fastest typist. Naturally, I can’t remember how fast she types. There was a funny little glitch because they brought her out to time her, but then realized they didn’t have any paper.

Personally, the last time I was tested I came in at about 120 wpm, but like Esprix, I was doing it for a living. When I saw the woman on Letterman, just watching her hands I could tell that she typed much faster than I do. I was surprised because I assumed once you got into the 100+ range that there wouldn’t be that much of a visible difference.

Around fifty, if typing something from notes, etc. About 90-100 if I’m writing. And that’s four fingers, one thumb learned on a manual and beat the damn keyboard to death style.

Sir

About 98wpm, but that counts corrections. I can’t help it, I backspace over errors and retype them before I am even consciously aware that I’ve made them.

108 WPM, although I haven’t timed it in over a year.

Oh, I can go at least 70 typos per minute… :slight_smile:

I just tested myself for fun last week. I came in at 71 wpm, with 96% accuracy. Yay.

I recently encountered a typing-speed contest set up in a local mall. I took the test, and on the worst Piece O’Crap™ Keyboard I ever used, I scored 116wpm at 98% accuracy. I wonder what I would have gotten on a decent keyboard.

Well, the last time I took a typing test was Freshman year in High school (six years ago, for those of you who’re keeping count). I came in at 72 WPM with better than 90% accuracy (I forget the exact number).