How many threads have been deleted?

I just searched in about half a dozen different ways for an old thread I started, and it seems there is no record of any threads I started before 2006, in any forum.

What’s the deal? What are the criteria, if any, for deleting/archiving threads/posts? Are they ever going to come back?

They may have been lost in the Winter of Lost Content, as it’s known, when there was some server fart and a lot of stuff just vanished into the deserts of the Interweb.

You miss the fact that Eva mentions all threads earlier than 2006. The Winter of our Missed Content was only a small amount compared to the four years she’s been a member previous to this year.

WITCH!!! Burn her!

according to the search function, I’ve not posted in the pit before 2005. the two times I’ve been pitted don’t seem to be around, either (way back when I first joined)

My oldest post I can search for is Feb. of 2006, and I have been posting here since 2000.

I found a thread I started in 11-20-1999.

Very good.

My point, which I thought was self-evident, was that threads from before this year were not deleted (or at least all deleted), which could have been inferred from the previous posts.

Well, your posts are there:

2001: Perfect vs. relative pitch
2002: How to deal w/loved ones with depression?
2003: That sucks rocks! People, especially in…
2004: I bring you the Chernobyl, invented by my insane…
2005: If you can’t find any at the Caribbean butcher,…

However, a search for threads that you started doesn’t show anything before 2006.
Yet this thread you started in 2002 is still there: How to deal w/loved ones with depression?

When I search for threads I started, they show up all the way back.
Perhaps the database hiccupped the last time it rebuilt your threadstarted index?

That’s one helluva hiccup.