How to get hired without an interview

I know it is possible, because some of my coworkers on an IT project I did got hired without interviews. How can I do it? I have a lot of valuable skills, but a lot of companies don’t seem interested in hiring me because I am bad at interviews. I currently work as a freelance IT guy, which I have been doing since that project failed. I don’t want to be a road warrior anymore.

If you know enough people and can work your networks hard, sure, it’s possible to get hired without interviewing. You just need to know enough people with the power to hire their friends, and then wait until one has a job that’s a good match.

It’s a heck of a lot of work and requires an enormous amount of lucky timing, however. And it may not ever work at all. As a primary job-hunting strategy, it’s going to leave you pretty hobbled.

Interviewing is a skill like any other, and it’s one that responds pretty well to training. There are a number of very good books out there that provide insight in to what hiring managers are looking for and how to present your skills and address any concerns they have. Then, you can prepare for common questions and develop a mental library of stories about your competence to bring in (I write mind on paper). There is a formulaic way to do this, and it works well. After that, practice with a partner or on video, and you’ll be pretty good to go.

It’s a lot of work, but unless you have a genuine social disability, you can definitely improve.

Start your own company.
Find one of those spots where a guy drives up in a truck to hire a bunch of day laborers.
Find a relative or close friend who is senior enough at a company to bring you in without going through the normal HR process.
Become so well respected in your field that people reach out to you offering you jobs or consulting gigs.