How to load eBooks onto an iPhone Kindle APP

A friend is asking that question & I have no knowledge of how to use that, either using Calibre, which she also has or not. Thanks for any advice,

There are a couple of ways, although it depends upon the format of the ebook in question. If it’s mobi for example, you can physically transfer the file via lightning cable from whatever computer it’s on, and in general a kindle or kindle app will be able to find and recognize it.

If you aren’t transferring from a computer, you can also email it directly and the kindle app may be able to recognize if you click on the attached book file. Alternately, you can use Amazon’s email-to-kindle which can also handle limited conversion, but IIRC it has a small fee attached to it.

Here’s a recent article that specifically references kindle readers, but the basics of the email option should work for apps as well.

Happy reading to your friend!

ETA - I was an early e-book adopter (pre kindle!) and have dozens of .mobi books that I have just dragged into my kindle and phone libraries with minimal issues (biggest is that they are often missing cover art) and find the drag-and-drop easiest. :slight_smile:

I think the only time a fee is involved is if you have a Kindle device with 3G (as opposed to WiFi) connectivity, and that this would never be an issue with a Kindle app on a phone. Here’s one cite I was able to find.

I wasn’t certain, which is why I was trying to be careful. So if you’re on Wifi, should all be good, and over phone data, should be fine unless you’re on a penurious data plan. Oh, wanted to add an additional source -

https://www.amazon.com/gp/sendtokindle/email

Which includes all supported formats, which I’m copying here.

• Microsoft Word (.DOC, .DOCX)
  • HTML (.HTML, .HTM)
  • RTF (.RTF)
  • JPEG (.JPEG, .JPG)
  • Kindle Format (.MOBI, .AZW)
  • GIF (.GIF)
  • PNG (.PNG)
  • BMP (.BMP)
  • PDF (.PDF)