How well would you deal with being cast away like Robinson Crusoe?

Re: Cecil’s ressurected topic today.

I’m thinking I could last a year on an island without too much trouble.
Not a fussy eater and no special attachment to meat.
Don’t mind amusing myself for hours counting the specks on the wall.

Let’s see, what other skills did Tom Hanks have in that movie?
I guess he could fish with a net.
And I guess he could tie knots in bark to make a raft.

Those I could pick up self-taught.

So when they came looking for me I’d still be there.

I’d do fairly well, survival-wise. I love to do outdoors stuff like hiking and camping. I know how to fish, hunt, and set snares. Heck, I read survival guides for fun.

However, I don’t deal well with boredom. I think I’d go nuts if I was lost for too long.

Have you read Robinson Crusoe? Its been a while for me, but IIRC, He had several guns, with powder/bullets, he had barrels of food and several tools, like hatchets, picks, and the like.

I definitely don’t think I would have trouble in that situation for months, maybe even a years time.

If the alternative was floundering at sea,
I would think a little island would be just peachy.

What do you picture starting with? For example, you could indeed learn to fish with a net… if you had a net.

In An Island to Oneself, Tom Neale describes his years spent on the Suvarov atoll in the South Pacific. He, of course, planned his residency there, and didn’t lack for basic survival tools… but even so, he tells the story of his first visitors to the island, two couples dailing a yacht around the South Pacific. He tried to show them how to fish in the shallows with a spear… despite thier best efforts, they could catch nothing, while he was loaded up with fish for lunch for all of them in short order.

Now, admittedly, you’d be more highly motivated, and have longer to practice. But some of the techniques he mentions probably have to be taught.