Hume Cronyn RIP

The boit from Salon

I honestly thought he had died years ago.

Um…“boit” is “obit.” Sorry Hume, no disrespect intended.

I just now read about this a few minutes ago. We have lost another wonderful talent.

R.I.P. Hume. :frowning:

What a visionary actor. He starred in the premieres of several of Samuel Beckett’s plays, including Play and Krapp’s Last Tape.

I don’t believe in an afterlife, but I’d like to think of Hume Cronyn and Jessica Tandy being back together someplace where they’re happy.

I first saw Hume Cronyn when I was a freshman in high school- he was on Broadway with Jessica, starring in “The Gin Game.” He was, by turns, charming, funny, conniving, pathetic, and (ultimately) scary in the course of that play. And the interplay between Cronyn and Tandy was remarkable. Obviously, they’d been together long enough and knew each other so well, they were very convincing as an old man and an old woman who knew exactly how to push each other’s buttons.

Every mediocre actor has written a forgettable autobiography. Cronyn’s was one of the rare actor’s autobiography’s worth reading. It was called “A Terrible Liar,” and the title reflected what Cronyn felt made him a good actor: he wasn’t a good liar, at all. Whenever he said anything he didn’t really believe, it was obvious to anyone who saw him. He had to make himself believe something thoroughly before he could say it convincingly.

Perhaps that’s what made him so good at inhabiting his characters. He could make himself see the world from his characters’ points of view, which meant he could say even the most loathsome character’s lines as if they made perfect sense.

He’ll definitely be missed.

Great actor. Even in MARVIN’S ROOM, a completely non-speaking role (his character was a senile invalid non-verbal multiple stroke victim who wasn’t even seen in the play on which the movie was based) he stole his scenes.