i don't *care* if you're an engineer, your writing STLL SUCKS!

i’m a writing tutor at my university. i’ve started to get over the fact that 20+ year old people don’t even know that “which is a bad thing” is NOT a full sentence (well, actually, i’m not. but i’m trying to to save my sanity). but … ::: ahem :::

dear jackass:

thank you for choosing me as your writing tutor. it means so much to me, yes, really, it does. oh, your final report for tech and prof comm? [technical and professional communications is a required class here; instead of a final you have to do a proposal, do whatever it is, and write a formal report]. sure, no problem, i can help you with that.

oh, what’s that? i just sat down to help you and you want to go outside and have a cigarette already? um, okay, sure. just don’t take too long, mmkay?

well, while you’re doing that, i might as well start skimming the report. first thing i notice is that you spelled “gauge” as “gage”, so i circle that. when you come back in, i point this out to you. instead of just politely stating, “well, that is an acceptable alternate spelling, and i prefer to use that”, you have to say, “uh, NO, that IS a way to spell it. i use it all the time in my egineering job and that’s how we ENGINEERS spell it”. i grit my teeth and say, “fine, as long as it’s accepted.” (although i still think that ‘gage’ looks stupid)(and dammit, my brother is a fuckin engineer and he doesn’t know anyone who spells it that way).

there are a few grammatical errors i notice. i see many of these by the 20somethings that make up most of the student body. but you’re 40+, have another degree in something else and have been in a professional workplace for almost 20 years. i’d expect a bit better. but hey, this is what you’re here for, right?