I don't want to leave college. Is this normal?

I’m 26 and next May I’ll be getting my Bachelor’s.

It’s been a long road, full of lots of interruptions (marriage, baby) and playing musical major, but I really like what I’m studying. I’m happy.

But come next May, it’s over. No more school. No more learning.

If I could, I’d stay in school the rest of my life. It’s not that I don’t want to get a real job and be productive. I just LOVE school. I can’t explain it. I like going to class. I like learning new things, even if they have no practical use. I even like writing papers (usually).

I’m already feeling this sense of … well, loss. I could conceivably never set foot in a classroom again. I NEED classes, though. I look at people who don’t read, ever, and I wonder what’s wrong with them. How do other people live with not learning anything after they get out of school? I’ll have one degree, but there are 5 other degrees I’d like to get that I could name off the top of my head. It’s like being in a candy store and only allowed to pick out ONE piece of candy.

I’m looking forward to having a career and all, but it’s like I’m going to have to say goodbye to something I have done, basically, for the past 21 years. Oh, I know I can learn stuff on the side and read and all, but it won’t be the same.

Am I crazy? Is there a word for this?

You’re not crazy. What you’re feeling is totally natural. I felt the exact same way - I was terrified to graduate from college. School was what I did well, and I enjoyed it. Why would I want to do something else? It didn’t help that a friend who had graduated a semester before me told me “whatever you do, don’t graduate.” But what are we supposed to do, become professional students and major in everything? Unfortunately we can’t.
I graduated four years ago, and surprisingly I don’t miss school as much as I thought I would. What I miss the most is the stimulating conversation that occurred every day. It seems so hard to come by now.