"I got your number on the [bathroom] wall"

I was listening to Tommy Tutone’s “867-5309/Jenny” for the first time in probably ten years tonight and, naturally, I started thinking about phone numbers on bathroom walls—“For a good time, call…” and all that—and I was wondering: Has anyone here ever had any experience with this, uh, phenomenon? I mean, have you ever called a number from a bathroom wall? If so, what happened? Has your number ever been written on one? If so, did anyone ever call you? Tell me your bathroom wall/phone number stories.

My phone number got written on the bathroom wall when I was in junior high school. My phone started ringing off the hook, and I was getting numerous obscene phone calls. It was most unpleasant. It was in the 70’s, long before we had caller ID. My parents had the phone company put a tracer on the line, and whenever I got an obscene phone call, I had to keep the person on the line long enough for someone to call (the phone company? police? I don’t remember) from my parents’ line. Every time I hung up the phone from one of those calls, I felt the need to take a shower.

It’s really not a nice thing to do to a girl, trust me!

I called one as a teenager just out of curiousity.

I called the phone number asked for the girls name. The lady on the other end of the line told me “Hold on a sec, I’ll go get her.”

I got all giggly and hung up the phone before the girl had a chance to answer.

For an assignment in a college journalism class, I actually called a couple of numbers written on bathroom walls and interviewed the people. I remember the girl I interviewed was really pissed and thought she had an idea of who did it. The guy I talked to wasn’t as forthcoming.

Some of us used to hang out around a gas station/drug store when I was in jr. high school. One of the guys was a real dufus. I mean a 17 yrs old in the 8th grade type of dufus.