I have retired

After over 41 years as a working electrician/fire alarm technician I have finally retired. I don’t really have any hard and fast plans. I plan to up my cooking game quite a bit and there are a few projects around the house I will finally have time to do.

It is strange. I was laid off for a couple of months in the winter of 1973, but except for that I have had a job for 53 years

Congrats! How do you plan to spend your time, other than what you mention?

I envy you today, man. I hope it’s wonderful.

longhair75 -You’re an a recently retired electrician and I’m a soon-to-be-retired electrical engineer.
So, next time the lights go out I’m pretty sure that they will blame us.

It’s a big adjustment, but I think you’re going to love the freedom. Congrats!

For me, retiring was like getting out of jail. I couldn’t wait.

As a person retired for nearly 6 years, I have learned one thing: the peril of having “plenty of time to do that.” When I was working I had to shoehorn all my projects and chores into the weekends, and there was never enough time. Then suddenly there was plenty of time, I don’t have to rush to get this done today, there will be plenty of time tomorrow. Result: lots of things don’t get done, for a very long time. I’m just now cycling through some of that stuff, mostly because Covid has reduced my opportunities for time wasting activities outside the home.

Anyway, best of good times to you, I hope you enjoy every minute of it.

I’ve also recently retired, and it’s more of a challenge than I thought it would be. There’s not the external push to do things any more, which is nice, but that also leaves me feeling inert at times.

Some days I need to kick my own ass to get moving. I think have a schedule/calendar of planned things to do will be important.

I’m going to be retiring in a few months, so I’m following this discussion with interest.

Congrats! I’ve been retired over 4 years now, and have loved every minute of it.