I just got accepted to NYU. I'm 32 years old.

I love what I do for a living (theatre musician), but I only went to college for 3 semesters before dropping out to pursue it. The fact that I’m now in my 30’s, coupled with the fact that I recently lost my sister, must have lit a fire or something, because I wrote three essays and got two letters of recommendation for NYU, and this week I was accepted.

I decided to go with a much more stable field than music, so I went with… creative writing. A BA in Humanities with a concentration in Creative Writing, to be exact. I don’t know, it just seems right. It’ll help with writing musicals of my own, which I want to do, and it will also give me options as I get older… maybe I can teach or have my own humor column one day, which has always been a pipe dream.

But it’s a little scary! Not so much the whole “going to school with kids” thing, because I’m doing the McGhee Division, which is specifically for adults returning to school, but just because I haven’t been in school in 12 years. Any other Dopers going back as an adult?

No, but I’ve had colleagues who taught in the McGhee Division, and you’ll have plenty of company–they describe the students as among the best they’ve ever taught. (And they teach CW, too!)